Book Reviews

Gathering of the Four: Book One of the Serrulata Saga

One peasant woman will be the catalyst for a revolution.
“In the Realm, every citizen knows their place.”
Leora of Mae is a young woman orphaned at birth and raised on a remote farm. As a wielder of Xanthcraft, her abilities set her apart from her adoptive family and the other villagers.
Shortly before her twentieth birthday, she learns of her family’s plot to sell her into servitude. Fearing for her life, she flees from the only home she’s ever known—defying societal conventions and breaking the edicts of the Realm.
As she runs, Leora meets Roland Shallowbrook, a traveler on the Thieves’ Road; Lady Aurora Verte, daughter of a powerful member of the gentry; and the White Rider Leopold, a soldier with a secret.
Together, this found family will have to band together to survive.

Book Reviews

Havoc

They had all killed themselves.
Waking up in the heart of Engine, Shadow only has one goal in mind: destroy the place that made her life hell. Easier said than done. Put in a horrifying position as Engine’s assassin, she has no other choice but to follow their twisted ways.
Stripped of everything she’s grown to rely on, Shadow must keep her team safe and come up with a plan. But nothing was ever as it seemed. Her sanity starts to slip as answers are discovered. Escape soon becomes a dire thirst—her team is jeopardized—and time is running out.
Jack never wanted to end everything. But he had to die; someone needed to save her. Fixated on keeping his team alive, Jack realizes that there’s no going back. Or escaping. She wants to get revenge—but that would cost their lives.
Severely injured and divided on different sides, Jack must find the foundation that started it all to heal him. Otherwise, they were all going to die.
With Engine picking them off one by one, the team must find a way to escape—all with one life.

Book Reviews

Reality Testing: The Sundown Series: Book One

Welcome to Berlin. Population: desperate. In the throes of the climate crisis, the green tech pioneers are king, and if you aren’t willing to be their serf then you’re surplus to requirements.
Carbon credit for sleeping on the job. That’s the offer a dreamtech puts to Mara Kinzig, and she jumps on it. After all, the city ain’t getting any cheaper.
Then somebody changes the deal while she’s dreaming in the tank.
Now Mara has a body on her hands, an extra voice in her head, and the law on her tail. Only the Vanguard, a Foreign Legion of outcasts seeking an alternative path in the dust between the city states, might be able to help her figure out what went wrong.
First, though, she’ll have to escape the seething streets of Berlin alive.

Book Reviews

The Rose: Volume 2

The story continues. Beginning at the conclusion of Vol 1, The Rose Vol 2 follows rebel freedom fighter, Phil as he battles alien vampire Sanos. Phil’s mission is to follow Sanos into the depths of hollow earth to infiltrate Drac City and rescue Sandy from the clutches of the alien vampires.

Sandy awakens in Drac City and discovers she has powers she never knew existed. But where these changes came from is an enigma, a puzzle she’ll need to put aside until she finds her missing son, Adam. Now a guest among a city of alien vampires, Sandy must engage in a diabolical manipulation with alien vampire leader, Moth, the only vampire who knows the whereabouts of Adam.

Sanos requires Phil, the rebel freedom fighter who tore through the underground medical complex and brought chaos and mayhem with him. Sanos needs to overcome the shame Phil brought to alien vampires in the underground complex and reestablish trust with COR, the alien vampire commission in charge of operations on planet Earth. But to do so Phil is required, dead or alive is no matter to Sanos, he desires to gain favor with COR no matter what the cost. COR has the formula Sanos craves more than power and control. The formula is his ticket to new blood and his reign over his species and the universe.

Travel into the depths of hollow earth, across the globe, and beneath the ocean for a scifi fantasy extravaganza of blood, carnage, life, death and the eternal battle between good and evil.

Book Reviews

The Rose: Volume 1

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.
Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, war has just begun.
Forty-eight hours after a World War 3 treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines, she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.
And they’ve taken her unborn child.
Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with The Blades, a sacred alien martial arts weapon, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.
But the Vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot.
Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, combating genetically mutated humans, aliens, and monsters.
When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!
Fans of Jeff VanderMeer’s Annihilation, Star Wars, The Matrix, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, edge-of-your-seat action adventure.

Book Reviews

Dystopia’s Edge

I thought I put my hitman days behind me. Turns out that couldn’t be further from the truth.
I’m Benjamin Edge, mercenary for hire. Running guns, carrying out hits, I’ve done it all. When you grow up as a child soldier fighting for one city-state against another in the crumbling ruins of a fallen civilization, killing becomes second nature.
This newest job seems a breeze, though. Smuggling lab equipment from San Francisco to New Tijuana means running a harsh gauntlet, but it’s nothing I can’t handle. A few hired guns—even a reformed drug addict who let me down in the past—should be enough to blaze a trail through the Badlands.
Or at least I thought it was.
Until a corpse came back from the dead.
Sergeant Reaver, a bio-engineered super soldier I killed a decade ago, is somehow still breathing. Not only that, but he’s brought all the crime syndicates in Los Angeles under his banner. Now that he knows I’m on his turf, it’s me against an army all the way to New Tijuana.
Good thing I packed plenty of ammo.