Book Reviews

Wayward: A Soldier’s Heart, Book One

The family guilt and secrets that have haunted Audrey Linser from childhood have become her armor, her excuse to keep people away. This independence has been an asset during her Army career as a CID agent in the field, until a close call ends her solo days. Now she’s stuck at Fort Huachuca, the home of intelligence training and her childhood ghosts. All she wants is to leave—until she meets Simon.
Simon Carwell was a military brat before enlisting in the Army. He’s spent the last couple years weighed down by his own guilt after tragedy struck in Afghanistan. With some help from friends and a direct order, he’s finally getting help and coming to terms with what happened. Facing those demons has him wanting more from life than the next thrill.
Their attraction is strong, but so are their issues. And while they’re working through those, they have an even bigger problem to solve—
Who is trying to kill Audrey and why?

Book Reviews

Hyperbia

Epic fantasy gets turned on its head and slapped with a wet fish.
Elves are snobby brunch enthusiasts, ogres are pacifistic yoga buffs, and the “hero” is a mild-mannered misfit who prefers strudels to swords. Welcome to Hyperbia.
Tubbart Schepps is a generally nice guy. Thus concludes his positive traits. The tragically named, socially inept, morbidly rotund dreamer gets through life on the comfort of food and imagination. One day, after a mortally embarrassing workplace mishap, Tubbart stumbles as far away as he can get. Which is the nearest bus stop. There, he is unwittingly spirited to the fantastical realm of Hyperbia, where magic larks and absurdity stumbles after. A noble elf prince takes Tubbart under his quiver, and the days are equal parts joyous and bizarre. But not all is sunshine and elfwine. An evil fairy bent on revenge is freshly risen, and seeks nothing less than utter annihilation of the realm.

Book Reviews

Reality Testing: The Sundown Series: Book One

Welcome to Berlin. Population: desperate. In the throes of the climate crisis, the green tech pioneers are king, and if you aren’t willing to be their serf then you’re surplus to requirements.
Carbon credit for sleeping on the job. That’s the offer a dreamtech puts to Mara Kinzig, and she jumps on it. After all, the city ain’t getting any cheaper.
Then somebody changes the deal while she’s dreaming in the tank.
Now Mara has a body on her hands, an extra voice in her head, and the law on her tail. Only the Vanguard, a Foreign Legion of outcasts seeking an alternative path in the dust between the city states, might be able to help her figure out what went wrong.
First, though, she’ll have to escape the seething streets of Berlin alive.

Book Reviews

The Rose: Volume 2

The story continues. Beginning at the conclusion of Vol 1, The Rose Vol 2 follows rebel freedom fighter, Phil as he battles alien vampire Sanos. Phil’s mission is to follow Sanos into the depths of hollow earth to infiltrate Drac City and rescue Sandy from the clutches of the alien vampires.

Sandy awakens in Drac City and discovers she has powers she never knew existed. But where these changes came from is an enigma, a puzzle she’ll need to put aside until she finds her missing son, Adam. Now a guest among a city of alien vampires, Sandy must engage in a diabolical manipulation with alien vampire leader, Moth, the only vampire who knows the whereabouts of Adam.

Sanos requires Phil, the rebel freedom fighter who tore through the underground medical complex and brought chaos and mayhem with him. Sanos needs to overcome the shame Phil brought to alien vampires in the underground complex and reestablish trust with COR, the alien vampire commission in charge of operations on planet Earth. But to do so Phil is required, dead or alive is no matter to Sanos, he desires to gain favor with COR no matter what the cost. COR has the formula Sanos craves more than power and control. The formula is his ticket to new blood and his reign over his species and the universe.

Travel into the depths of hollow earth, across the globe, and beneath the ocean for a scifi fantasy extravaganza of blood, carnage, life, death and the eternal battle between good and evil.

Book Reviews

The Rose: Volume 1

A masterful, dystopian science fiction thriller of telepathic evil greys, mysterious rebellion, martial arts, and Alien Vampires.
Sandy Cox believed WW3 was over. But for those Alien Vampires, war has just begun.
Forty-eight hours after a World War 3 treaty is signed Sandy Cox awakens in an underground compound unable to move. Tied to machines, she screams for help but no one answers. At least no one human.
And they’ve taken her unborn child.
Phil is a rebel freedom fighter who has had more than his share of Alien Vampires. Armed with The Blades, a sacred alien martial arts weapon, he enters the compound on a mission to find Sandy. But as he battles through the compound, Phil discovers Sandy has her own agenda. Finding her stolen child is all that matters.
But the Vampires have their own plan and Sandy’s baby is at the heart of their diabolical plot.
Joined by a crew of rogue soldiers, they must navigate the underground compound, combating genetically mutated humans, aliens, and monsters.
When battling Alien Vampires, one thing is certain…Get Ready To Bleed!
Fans of Jeff VanderMeer’s Annihilation, Star Wars, The Matrix, and Ancient Aliens will be fascinated by this high-powered, edge-of-your-seat action adventure.

Book Reviews

The Last Resort: A Carrie Anderson Mystery

The search for a missing girl was just the beginning.
Carrie, an IT tech for Fairview Resort, is asked by the VP of Security to find a missing college student. She agrees to help find the girl, but she also leads a group that calls themselves the “Rescue Rangers” who aid victims of domestic violence. That search puts Carrie squarely in the crosshairs of a dangerous enemy.
Add the new attorney, Drew Martin, to the team and suddenly things get… complicated.
As her search for Gwen narrows, Carrie worries the girl may be in need of help from the Rangers, too. It turns out to be just the tip of the iceberg and puts Carrie squarely in the crosshairs of some dangerous people.